july – julio

july-13-celebrate-freedom-calendar-1920x1080 jul-13-mason_jar-calendar-1920x1200 jul-13-Sweet_summer-calendar-1920x1200

{images via smashing magazine}

July is a special month. We celebrate not only 4th of July, the United States Independence Day, but also 28 de Julio, Peru’s Independence Day. As I mentioned before, it’s one of my biggest intentions to expose and teach my kids about my culture. Specially in G’s case, since he’s half Peruvian. It’s very important to me he grows up bilingual and knows everything about Peru, its wonderful places, delicious food, interesting customs and historical traditions. Our annual trips to Peru will absolutely help with that. This last time we were there, I noticed G picked up many Spanish words, and he’s starting to speak as much Spanish as he speaks English now. Yay!

We started the month with a late, late birthday play date for G. I’ve been busy with work, so I couldn’t plan anything earlier. Check out mamemima, for some pictures soon!

We’re taking it easy this long weekend. We’ll take advantage of the days off to organize things around the house, finish some projects that were on hold, and plan some others. I think the kids bathroom remodel is happening {crossing my fingers} so I have a lot to think about. I can’t say the same thing about the second floor rooms switching though. M said he never had the chance to move anything so when we came back, about two weeks ago, everything was as I left it. And that’s definitely something we’re {I’m} not ready to handle now. It’ll have to go to the bottom of our to-do-list.

The rest of the month is filled with day trips, birthdays and of course a 28 de Julio celebration!

Thanks for your comments!

